Daughters of Darkness

January 6, 2011

By: L.J. Smith
Reviewed by: Alexis
Rated 5 out of 5 Stars

In Daughters of Darkness by L.J. Smith, Mary-Lynette and her brother Mark become suspicious when they find out three sisters are moving in next door with their aunt, Mrs. Burdock. Mary-Lynette and Mark think the three sisters are just normal girls, but soon discover their anything but. Jade, Rowan, and Kestrel are hiding a secret, a secret that shouldn’t be released into human terms. One day, Mary-Lynnette and Mark spy on the girls, only to find them burying their aunt in the ground. Panicked, Mary-Lynette and Mark interrogate the girls and find out that they’re truly vampires, and that they had nothing to do with the death of the aunt. The story turns into a murder-mystery, taking twists and turns to find the answer. After time, Jade, Rowan, and Kestrel’s brother, Ash, comes to the scene, turning Mary-Lynnette’s world upside down. At first, Mary-Lynette despises the young, blonde-headed boy. However, after time, she discovers something that will change everyone’s world…forever. As the book progresses, the gang finds out the truth and it changes everything.

Daughters of Darkness is a great book. It’s a perfect read for those who like to really “sink their teeth” into their reading. The book is contained in a bigger book of three, called Night World  1. The other two books are called Secret Vampire, and Spellbinder. Daughters of Darkness is the second book in the bigger book. The first book, Secret Vampire, and the second book, Daughters of Darkness, somewhat go in unison, but barely. Most of these books don’t correspond with each other, but some do, in small parts. In Secret Vampire, Ash Redfern is included as a character, and then transitions to the second book, Daughters of Darkness. Almost all of the books made by L.J. Smith somewhat correspond around the mighty Redfern family, one of the greatest families in the Night World. In the “Night World” series, there are two other books, containing three smaller books inside. The second big book is called Night World 2, and the third is Night World 3. L.J. Smith is a great writer, with amazing talent. She makes you feel like you’re right there with all the characters, experiencing the tragic events with him. You don’t have to read Secret Vampire to read Daughters of Darkness, but since they’re all in the same book anyway and it contains a common character, it gives you more background knowledge of Ash, who becomes very important in Daughters of Darkness. I would recommend this book for anyone that likes the “Twilight” series, of the “Immortals” series. Over all, it’s a great read.  

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Help Us Buy Books

Hubbard's Hounds

Browse By Genres

Find What You Need